Tag Archives: Damned If She Does Series

A Demon’s Trade (Damned If She Does Book 1) by Kathrin Hutson Review

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions are my own.

A magical bounty hunter finds herself discovering aspects of her power she never saw coming, and a case she refused to take becomes the one case that she never should have given up on in author Kathrin Hutson’s “A Demon’s Trade”, the first book in the Damned If She Does series. 

Advertisements

The Synopsis

Demons might not be real. But she is.

As a tracker of curse magic, dark artifacts, and forbidden netherwork, Kali Sullivan is one of a kind, and not just as a bounty hunter. They think she’s a demon. What they don’t know can definitely kill them—and worse.

It only takes one slip to throw a curse into utter chaos. So when an overconfident target gets himself killed before Kali can take him in, she’s left to pick up the pieces. And to figure out which magical nutjob had the bright idea to start tattooing casting circles on their victims.

When staking out another dark-magic suspect reveals far more than who’s behind the attacks on humans, the ghosts of Kali’s past come calling in an unexpected way. Their messages give a whole new meaning to who and what she truly is, and it’s darker than she thought. Especially when the one job Kali refused is the one she really should have taken.

Fans of Patricia Briggs and Kim Harrison will love this action-packed Urban Fantasy Adventure from International Bestselling Author Kathrin Hutson.

*Set in the same universe as Kathrin Hutson’s Accessory to Magic series.*

The Review

Immediately I was drawn into this narrative. The author did such an incredible job of crafting a powerful and captivating protagonist and heroine. Kali is the kind of take-charge hero that readers are instantly drawn to, and the dark nature of not only her character but the world she works in perfectly reflects her conflicting nature as well. The first third of the book immediately draws the reader into the narrative, crafting a job for Kali to take that starts out as a simple dark curse extraction and turns into something far more complex than she could have imagined. I also loved seeing her bond with Heath, how they came together amid her horrifying upbringing at the hands of her father, and how these elements played into the central narrative overall.

The fast-paced action in this novel and the atmosphere the author crafts from the dark urban fantasy genre add to the air of mystery and suspense that this series of murders associated with Kali’s jobs has on the reader. The way Kali’s backstory and her personality as a whole come into play later into the narrative are so unique and perfectly mirror how trauma can follow us well past the moments we experience it, and if we aren’t careful to confront that trauma it can hold a grip on us all until we do so. 

The Verdict

A memorable, entertaining, and beautifully written novel, author Kathrin Hutson’s “A Demon’s Trade” is a must-read urban fantasy story. The twists and turns in the narrative and shocking revelations in the book’s final chapters will have readers hooked instantly, eager to learn more about the next entry into this brand new series. If you haven’t yet, be sure to grab your copy today!

Rating: 10/10

Advertisements

About the Author

International Bestselling Author Kathrin Hutson has been writing Dark Fantasy, Sci-Fi, and LGBTQ Speculative Fiction since 2000. With her wildly messed-up heroes, excruciating circumstances, impossible decisions, and Happily Never Afters, she’s a firm believer in piling on the intense action, showing a little character skin, and never skimping on violent means to bloody ends. Kathrin is an active member of SFWA and HWA and lives in Vermont with her husband, daughter, and two dogs.

For updates on new releases, exclusive deals, and dark surprises you won’t find anywhere else, sign up to Kathrin’s newsletter at kathrinhutsonfiction.com/subscribe.

https://www.kathrinhutsonfiction.com/