Posted in reviews

Owl and the Tiger Thieves (The Owl Series Book 4) by Kristi Charish Review

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions are my own. 

A former antiquities thief turned lynchpin to the fate of the world in a supernatural civil war must find the legendary Tiger Thieves in an effort to stop the rising threat of the Electric Samurai in author Kristi Charish’s “Owl and the Tiger Thieves”, the 4th book in The Owl series. 

Advertisements

The Synopsis

In this fourth Owl novel, Kristi Charish (The Voodoo Killings) melds sparkling fantasy with the grit of urban underbelly—with a detour through the world’s most spectacular cities. This is perfect for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

Through no fault of her own, Alix has found herself essential to the fate of the world as we know it. She didn’t mean for this to happen—she was quite happy being merely the notorious antiquities thief, and ex-archeologist, known as Owl.

However, years ago, Owl reluctantly entered the secret world of the supernatural. Her goals: complete one job, escape one bounty on her head, continue her thieving in peace.

Fast forward to today. Now, she has become a key player in a brutal paranormal civil war that is rapidly getting out of hand. The leader of one of these factions—a lethal opponent called the Electric Samurai—grows more powerful by the second. To stop him, Owl sets out to find the long-lost, legendary group known as the Tiger Thieves.

But will it be too little too late? One thing Owl misses about “normal” archaeology: there are few emergencies with thousand-year-old relics. 

The Review

This is what the fantasy genre is all about! While I am a newcomer to this series, the author does a fantastic job of drawing new readers and established fans of the series alike into the narrative. The blend of Indiana Jones-style character development with supernatural and fantasy-based storytelling is an inspired choice for the book. 

From what I understand of the previous books, this story flips the script on readers by making this story more personal. While previous installments focused on quest-based storytelling, the author takes readers on an emotional and action-focused adventure that sees the protagonist looking for an ancient order in an effort to rescue someone close to her from a deadly foe. The evolution of Alix as a character that sees her struggling with her desire to go back to being an antiquities thief but constantly pulled into this dangerous and deadly world of supernatural beings is what really draws the reader in and keeps them wanting more.

The Verdict

A haunting, action-packed, and entertaining read, author Kristi Charish’s “Owl and the Tiger Thieves” is the perfect next chapter in this growing supernatural and fantasy series. A must-read for fans of this genre, the blend of intrigue and mystery with adventure and a balance between mythology and character growth make this a fantastic book that you don’t want to miss. Be sure to grab your copy today!

Rating: 10/10

Advertisements

About the Author

Kristi is the author of OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS (Simon and Schuster Canada/Pocket Books), an urban fantasy about a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world, and THE VOODOO KILLINGS (Random House Canada), an urban fantasy/mystery about a voodoo practitioner living in Seattle with the ghost of a deceased grunge rocker.

She writes what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. She’s also a co-host for the Adventures in Sci-Fi Publishing Podcast.

Before becoming an author Kristi was a research scientist. She holds a BSc and MSc from Simon Fraser University in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry and a PhD in Zoology from the University of British Columbia. Her specialties are genetics, cell biology, and molecular biology, all of which she draws upon in her writing. She is represented by Carolyn Forde at Westwood Creative Artists.

FB: http://www.facebook.com/KristiCharish…

AISFP Podcast: http://www.adventuresinscifipublishing.com/

http://kristicharish.com

Author:

Anthony Avina, (Born March 1990), is an author, a journalist, and a blogger. Born in Southern California, he has battled through injuries, disabilities, moves back and forth across the country, and more, yet still maintains a creative voice that he hopes to use not only to entertain but to inspire hope in even the darkest situations. He writes short stories and novels in several genres, and is also a seasoned journalist for the online magazine, On Request Magazine, as well as the popular site TheGamer. Having grown up reading the books of Dean Koontz and Stephen King, they inspired him to write new and exciting stories that delved into the minds of richly developed characters. He constantly tries to write stories that have never been told before, and to paint a picture in your mind while you are reading the book, as if you could see every scene of the book as if it were a movie you were watching. His stories will get your imaginations working, and will also show that in spite of the most despairing and horrific situations, hope is never out of reach. He am always writing, and so there will never be a shortage of new stories for your reading pleasure. http://www.authoranthonyavinablog.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.